#26. Don’t eat for 24 hours


Mohandas K. Gandhi, he has been my idol, inspiration and hero, and now I have even more respect for this man. In honor of him I attempted to fast for 24 hours. Last night at 9:45 I had chocolate chip cookies, and that was it for a long time. My goal was to reach 9:45 tonight without eating any food. I woke up at 9:45 this morning (12 hours already passed) and until 4:30 I survived only on one piece of gum, coffee and a diet Dr. Pepper. Around mid-afternoon I was not feeling so hot. I started shaking and feeling pretty weak, with a headache too. I toughed it out until 4:45…a total of 19 hours without food. But after that, I had to eat. I devoured a sandwich, apple, chips and a pack of fruit snacks. Immediately I started feeling better. I can’t say I would ever do this again as it wasn’t the best experience, but it did give me more respect for Gandhi. How he fasted for so long remains a mystery to me. Even though I didn’t stick it out for a full 24 hours, I would count this one as a success. I went longer without food than I ever have before and definitely came away with a greater appreciation for food.

About bucketlisting

Just your average teenage girl trying to cross items off of a bucket list.
This entry was posted in bucket list and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #26. Don’t eat for 24 hours

  1. Bravo! I don’t think I could even make it for 19 hours! It wouldn’t help that I own a restaurant so I am around food all the time.

  2. CeCe says:

    I am always on the go at work (my unit is the size of a football field so I am constantly walking), and I get the shakes if I don’t have even a cracker every 3 hours.

    I’ll try this the next time I have the stomach flu or something, then at least I have a chance. Haha.

    • Haha, yeah that might be a good time to try it. I can’t imagine walking around all day and not eating. I basically just laid at home on the couch and I was still getting shaky! I’d definitely put fasting off until you are sick or something. Haha.

  3. I did a juice fast for 10 days before, but wasn’t hungry as you’re still getting a lot of food (it’s just juiced)… Not sure it’s healthy to fast for 24 hours in your teens to be honest. When I was younger there used to be a 24 Hour Famine Charity event which I did twice and almost passed out! It’s no longer run, which makes me suspect there were issues with young girls fasting

Tell me what you think...

