#31. Go a weekend without technology


Ah, technology, how I missed you. The sweet static pop of the TV coming on, the joy of turning on my phone and seeing all the missed messages and the feel of the computer keyboard clacking under my fingers…these were missed over the weekend. However, it wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it would be. And, actually way more enjoyable than I thought. There was plenty of reading (The Host by Stephenie Meyer finished, and Gandhi’s autobiography further read) and lots of solitaire playing. I got to be quite the champ. My family even humored me by playing a game of Scattergories. My brother and I went to the river and sunbathed, which took up a few hours of time. Doing this no technology weekend I gained the skill of patience and the ability to enjoy solitude. I usually can’t stand being by myself for very long; I thrive off of being around other people. However, I spent a good two…possibly three hours just sitting out on the back deck waiting for the perfect moment to snap a picture of a hummingbird/butterfly eating. Without the constant noise and pressure to constantly be in contact with people 24/7, it was actually somewhat of a relief to not have all the gadgets around me. I can’t say that I’ll ever do this again, but it was definitely a learning experience. And something that made me realize I could spend my time doing different things other than always staring at some form of a screen.

 

Although these pictures were not taken from this weekend, I figured it makes a post more enjoyable to look at when there are pictures to see. And these things were exactly what I was doing this weekend. The only picture from the weekend is the one of the butterfly.

About bucketlisting

Just your average teenage girl trying to cross items off of a bucket list.
This entry was posted in bucket list and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #31. Go a weekend without technology

  1. Your mom says:

    I commend you for not being mean to those of us who DID have the use of technology this past weekend. :)

  2. Proud of you accomplishment! Way to go kiddo! XXOO

  3. Drew says:

    Pretty pictures! I’m sure this gave you a nice break from the outside world but I hope you don’t do it very often. I kind of get freaked out when I don’t talk to you all weekend. As you found out haha. Separation anxiety!! ;)

  4. Nicole Marie says:

    It’s wonderful that you took something away from the experience! While I’m glad I didn’t lose power in the storm, it wouldn’t have been so bad not being able to play Rock Band for 3 hours, hahaha. Glad you and your family are safe after this hectic weekend!!

  5. Miranda says:

    Wow. I have an item on my list today to spend 7 days (not necessarily in a row) without any technology. I’m kind of nervous! Congrats.

  6. WOW! Well done-I’m a tch lover-so this one would leave me feeling like my arm had been cut off! HAHAHA

  7. Pingback: Blast back to the Past | #onenewthing

Tell me what you think...

