#14. Sleep under the stars


After comparing bucket lists with one of my friends, Natalie, we decided since we both had sleeping under the stars on the list to cross it off. The next day I invited over three of my close friends, Carmen, Natalie and Drew. The weather looked like it was going to be great for us, until around 5:00 in the evening. There was a huge thunderstorm with torrential downpour and it looked like we weren’t going to be able to sleep under the stars after all. However, we were determined. Drew and Natalie hadn’t gotten to my house yet, so Carmen and I went outside in the wet grass and humid air to lay down a tarp to sleep on top of, and set up a tent…just in case. Everything was set, now we were just waiting for our friends, and for it to get dark. Everyone arrived and we hung out inside for a while to avoid the humid, sticky air. But, at 11:00 we trooped outside and laid down our sleeping bags and pillows on the tarp. We were settling in and talking when, to my surprise, I saw a shooting star. I was so happy to see one and immediately pointed it out to everyone else, although no one else did see it. I guess it was my treasure for the night. Anyway, the bugs were surprisingly not so bad, although that may have had to do with the bug spray we drenched ourselves in. Carmen even gagged and choked on the smell. I went into this expecting the worse, but was pleasantly surprised. I didn’t get much sleep, but I knew I wouldn’t laying on the hard, bumpy ground. To keep me from getting bored while I laid awake, my lovely cat, Phillip, curled up on my sleeping bag right by my feet and kept me company all night long. As I closed my eyes and tried falling asleep I kept thinking about how peaceful it was outside. With the sound of crickets, bugs and the occasional bird and train lulling me to sleep, my close friends and cat all helping me cross an item off my list and the vast dark sky pock-marked with sparkling stars, I couldn’t help but feel immensely happy to cross this item off.

My only advice would be to know that you are going to wake up feeling like you just got out of the shower. Our sleeping bags and pillows were soaked from the morning dew, and our hair was frizzy and bushy. Everything got wet from the dew, but as long as you expect that and air everything out to dry, it isn’t that big of a deal at all. Just quite a surprise to wake up soaking wet.

What has been the most rewarding thing you’ve crossed off of your bucket list? Or the time when you felt your happiest?

About bucketlisting

Just your average teenage girl trying to cross items off of a bucket list.
This entry was posted in bucket list and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #14. Sleep under the stars

  1. Miranda says:

    I haven’t slept outside in a long time (and most of the time I would creep in before the morning cause I really had had enough). Congrats on crossing this off.

    • I’m thinking that being a Girl Scout for over 10 years has probably prepared me for sleeping outside some. But thank you! I can definitely see why you would creep back inside due to the bugs, the heat and the uncomfortable ground…

Tell me what you think...

