#16. Swim with dolphins


This was probably the item that was on my list the longest. Ever since I was a little girl and saw a picture of someone riding on the back of a dolphin I’ve had my heart set on doing it too. This was the same day that I also got to cross off #3. Discovery Cove was a miracle for the Bucketlist! They take you out in a small group with an instructor and call a dolphin over to interact with. First you get to watch it do some tricks. Our dolphin clapped, jumped and even talked some! Then (my favorite part) we got to kiss the cutie along with feeding it a fish. Professional photographers were taking pictures of this entire event. Then, the highlight we had been waiting for, they took us out to the deep end and let the dolphin carry us back in to the waiting crowd. I was amazed at how strong the dolphin felt and how I glided through the water. It was quite honestly one of the most amazing events I’ve ever experienced. After our dolphin ride, we got to go out in our pairs and rub its tummy and get our picture taken. Me and Drew were on a dolphin high and couldn’t stop gushing about how amazing it was that we finally got to swim with a dolphin. We felt like the luckiest kids alive.

About bucketlisting

Just your average teenage girl trying to cross items off of a bucket list.
This entry was posted in bucket list, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to #16. Swim with dolphins

  1. Steven says:

    Congrats on accomplishing one of your goals. I wish I’d have been able to get to you sooner to share my mission of convincing “listers” to swim with dolphins, but only in the wild instead of in captivity. You can check out why I feel this way by reading this article: http://hundredgoals.com/2011/04/01/please-dont-swim-with-dolphins/

    Even though you’ve already swam with captive dolphins, I have hope that you’ll help spread the word to others who might want to do this, and help convince them to do it in the wild. Afterall, that’s more meaningful than buying the experience in a swimming pool.

Tell me what you think...